Skip to main content

banner

Sociology Resources: Find
Articles

Sociology Related Databases

 These databases organize articles from academic journals in the social sciences. .

Multidisciplinary databases

Sociology: study of the development, structure, and functioning of human society.

Google Scholar and GALILEO

Configure Google Scholar to connect to subscription databases
available to Armstrong students.

Go to the Settings page in Google Scholar 

Choose Library Links tab, find and select the following options.

  • Armstrong Atlantic State University - Find It @ Armstrong
  • Armstrong Atlantic State University - Full Text @ Armstrong
  • Georgia Library Services Board of Regents - EBSCOhost Full Text
  • Open WorldCat - Library Search

With these selected, Google Scholar results will display available retrieval options through GALILEO.

 

Using GALILEO

GALILEO Discovery is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories. 


As of Fall 2016 semester, GALILEO users will no longer need a separate password for GALILEO. When using GALILEO Discovery and databases provided by GALILEO, Armstrong students, faculty, and staff will be asked for their PORT username and password.

What's an embargo?

Often, publishers will restrict access to the most recent issues of a journal. This restricted period is called an embargo and applies to database subscriptions.

You can still get the articles published during the embargo period via the ILLIAD service.

Lane Library staff will find institutions who will have full-text access to the periodical. Through the ILLIAD agreement, a digital copy of the article can be sent to you.  The charge for this service is NOT passed on to the student or faculty member.   

 The blue Find It button will link you to the ILLIAD system and the needed request form. 

Average turnaround time for article requests is 48 hours.  You will be notified of filled requests via email.