Skip to main content

banner

Public Health Resources: Find Research Articles

Off-campus Logins to Access Databases

To access GALILEO databases, you must enter the GALILEO password. To access library databases outside of GALILEO, you must enter your Active DIrectory ID and password. Here are the links to help you access these logins:

Google Scholar and GALILEO

Configure Google Scholar to connect to subscription databases.

Go to the Settings page in Google Scholar 

Choose Library Links tab, find and select the following options.

Armstrong State University - Find It@Armstrong
Armstrong State University - Full Text@Armstrong

With these selected, Google Scholar results will display links that will allow you to retrieve articles through GALILEO.

Databases for Articles

  Best Bet databases for studies, reviews, and other scholarly articles.

Frequently Cited Journals for Public Health Research

Among the hundreds of journals reporting on research in the field of public health, the journals linked below publish some of the most frequently cited articles.  These links connect to the publication page within a database.

What's an embargo?

Often, publishers will restrict access to the most recent issues of a journal. This restricted period is called an embargo and applies to database subscriptions.

You can still get the articles published during the embargo period via the ILLIAD service.

Lane Library staff will find institutions who will have full-text access to the periodical. Through the ILLIAD agreement, a digital copy of the article can be sent to you.  The charge for this service is NOT passed on to the student or faculty member.   

 The blue Find It button will link you to the ILLIAD system and the needed request form. 

Average turnaround time for article requests is 48 hours.  You will be notified of filled requests via email.  

 

Search Log

Some assignments may require an account of the search strategy used to identify studies included in a review or analysis.  This form may be useful on these occasions.