Skip to main content

banner

Simmons PHIL 3320: Getting started

The Assignment

PRESENTATIONS: 1. Presentations must be five pages typed, double spaced. 2. Presentations will answer a specific question. 3. Presentations must also include a complete bibliography (not part of the five pages of text). 4. The presentation must have a clear thesis (first page), argument supporting the thesis, and conclusion. 5. Students must bring two hard copies of the presentation to class on the day they are due. 6. The presentation topic will be chosen by the student, in consultation with the professor. The presentation topic will be chosen from a contemporary political, aesthetic, ethical issue. The student will then use postmodern sources to critique the issue. 

SAMPLE TOPICS:

Identify Politics – Benhabib http://www.marxists.org/subject/women/authors/benhabib-seyla/uneasy-alliance.htm Why are postmodernism and identity politics uncomfortable together? What is the space of abjection?

Death in Being and Time – Heidegger How is death a possible solution to the postmodern muddle?

Nietzsche on Science--How is Nietzsche’s claim about science an attack on modernism?

Google Scholar and GALILEO

If you find an article you need using Google Scholar, there is no guarantee  you will have access to the full text.  It is possible that  Lane Library does have access to the journal through one of our subscription databases. Go to the Settings page in Google Scholar, and from the Library Links tab, find and select the following options.

  • Armstrong Atlantic State University - Find It @ Armstrong
  • Armstrong Atlantic State University - Full Text @ Armstrong
  • Georgia Library Services Board of Regents - EBSCOhost Full Text
  • Open WorldCat - Library Search

With these selected, Google Scholar results will display some retrieval options through GALILEO that may be able to help.

Reliable Websites

IEP Logo

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, maintained by the University of Tennessee (Martin), "was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries."


Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy logo

From its inception, the Stanford Encyclopedia of  Philosophy "was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research."

Books for Biographical and Political Information

Look it up

Expect to learn some new vocabulary as you do your research.  No need to guess at a meaning...look it up here.  (Galileo password required if you are off campus.)

Search Oxford English Dictionary