Skip to main content

banner

Historic Newspapers and Periodicals: at Lane Library

Links to digitized newspapers, periodicals. Descriptions of Lane Library holdings.

Savannah Newspapers on Microfilm

Regional Newspapers on microfilm, located in cabinets on the second floor of Lane Library:


Colored Tribune*
Oct 23, 1886 - Dec 15, 1888


Columbia Museum & Savannah Advertiser**
1796 - 1819 (scattered issues)


Early Miscellaneous Newspapers of South Carolina
January, 1732 - December, 1864


Georgia Gazette
1763 - 1770


The Georgia Gazette and Journal Record
January 1, 1979 - April 2, 1979


Georgia Republican & State Intelligencer**
August 21, 1802 - September, 1808


The Herald*
September 16, 1948 - December, 1988


The Republican & Savannah Evening Ledger**
October 1, 1808 - December, 1815


Savannah Daily Republican**
November 6, 1820 - December 30, 1820 (scattered issues)


Savannah Morning News
July, 1868 - December, 1943
January, 1956 - December, 1999

Savannah Republican**
June, 1816 - February, 1855
February, 1859 - October 7, 1865


Savannah Tribune*
October 22, 1886 - December 15, 1888
October, 1943 - September, 1960


Savannah National Republican**
July, 1865 - December, 1865


Savannah Press
November 19, 1891 - September 6, 1900

*African American 

** Available online via DLG's Savannah historic newspapers

Magazines and Journals on Microfilm

Collections of historic journals on microfilm.  Questions? Call 344-3026 or Ask a Librarian

Early British Periodicals

Title Descriptions
Early British Periodicals (EBP) is a collection of 169 magazines, published primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries, concerning literature, history, science, fine arts, and social science. It was produced on 902 reels of microfilm in three series: EBP I, EBP II, and EBP III. Lane Library owns EBP I (Reels 1-421) and a portion of EBP II (Reels 422-474). Most of these approximately 116 titles are listed in Lane Library's Journal Locator. To retrieve them, search for (EBP).

American Periodicals, 18th Century (APS I)

American Periodicals, 18th Century is the first in a three part collection created at the University of Michigan to make rare, historic magazines and journals available to libraries. The full collection, American Periodicals, 1741-1900, contains more than 1100 periodicals. Lane Library owns APS I which contains 88 periodicals on 33 reels of microfilm. Title Descriptions


Periodicals in the Library of American Civilization

Lane Library owns the full Library of American Civilization (LAC) collection which is accessed by an Author Catalog, Title Catalog, and Subject Catalog. The approximately 60 periodicals in this Collection are listed in Lane Library's Journal Locator. To retrieve them, search for (LAC)

[text from Guide] "The Library of American Civilization is a collection of materials on microfiche relating to all aspects of American life and literature from their beginnings to the outbreak of World War I. Included in the library are pamphlets, periodicals, documents, biographies and autobiographies, fictional works, poetry, collections of various kinds, materials of foreign origin relating to America, and many rare books not generaly available."

The Inkwell

Lane Library's Special Collections houses The Inkwell, Armstrong's student newspaper from the first issue (September 1935) through current issues.  See below for links to the digitized back issues from 1935-1947, 1955, & 1960-1971 and the current, online issues. 

Other Newspapers on Microfilm

New York Times
1854 to the present


Richmond Enquirer (Richmond, Va. : 1815)
1860-1867


Southern Workman (Hampton, Va.)
v. 1, 1872 - v. 68, 1939


The Times (London)
1785 - 1922


The Nation (Dublin, Ireland : 1842)
1845-1847
1864-1865

Printed indexes to the New York Times and Times of London located on 2nd floor, Index shelves.

Library Hours