Skip to main content

banner

Historic Newspapers and Periodicals: Digitized Newspapers and Periodicals

Links to digitized newspapers, periodicals. Descriptions of Lane Library holdings.

Magazines, journals

Magazines in Google Books

Some magazines are digitized in Google Books, lncluding Life Magazine (digitized and keyword searchable  from 1935-1972, no printing.) Use the link to browse a list of other titles available.  Or, do an advanced search of Google books, limiting to magazines, notice you can also select a date range.  Mostly articles from  U.S. during 20th century

Savannah newspapers 1809-1880 online

New York Times archive

Back issues of the New York Times newspaper, published since 1851 are searchable from the newspaper's website. All site license users (Armstrong students, faculty and staff) have unlimited searching back to 1851-current. They are limited to 5 PDF downloads per day for the period of 1923-1980, due to copyright restrictions. Otherwise, there is no limit on downloads.  

Here's a sample search, started with keywords, savannah slavery and limited by date: 01/01/1851-01/01/1900:

If you are not an Arrmstrong student/faculty/staff, a digital subscription to the New York Times (academic rate is currently $5 for first 12 weeks) means access all the back issues and current articles. 

Newspapers

Digital Library of Georgia (DLG) has digitized several Georgia newspapers, mostly issues before 1922 and including: the South Georgia Historic Newspaper archive, Atlanta, Athens,  ColumbusMacon and Milledgeville newspapers. 

The Inkwell

Lane Library's Special Collections houses The Inkwell, Armstrong's student newspaper from the first issue (September 1935) through current issues.  See below for links to the digitized back issues from 1935-1947, 1955, & 1960-1971 and the current, online issues. 

New York Times archive available with campus subscription

Armstrong students and faculty may now access the historic archives of the New York Times, including the Times Machine. Keyword search articles published from 1851 to the present, and browse the newspaper's pages.   Have you set up your account/access to this campus subscription? The guide below explains how to do so. There is a limit of 5 article downloads per person per day for articles published between 1923-1980, for copyright reasons. 

JStor

JStor includes historical sources.. For example currently in JStor American Naturalist is available from 1867-2015, American Scholar runs 1932-2011 and American Sociologist 1965-2013.  Some JStor journals date to the 19th century, many started in the early 20th. 

Ancestry.com

Lists of Links