Digital Library of Georgia (DLG) has digitized several Georgia newspapers, mostly issues before 1922 and including: the South Georgia Historic Newspaper archive, Atlanta, Athens, Columbus, Macon and Milledgeville newspapers. These online collections require DjVu (day-ja-vu) software (rather than pdfs/ Adobe Acrobat) in order to view the newspapers. Here's a link to download the free software and help is available on the collection landing pages. The newly digitized Savannah newspaper archive uses Adobe Acorbat software, so does the Athens archive.
Some magazines are digitized in Google Books, lncluding Life Magazine (digitized and keyword searchable from 1935-1972, no printing.) Use the link to browse a list of other titles available. Or, do an advanced search of Google books, limiting to magazines, notice you can also select a date range. Mostly articles from U.S. during 20th century
Lane Library's Special Collections houses The Inkwell, Armstrong's student newspaper from the first issue (September 1935) through current issues. See below for links to the digitized back issues from 1935-1947, 1955, & 1960-1971 and the current, online issues.
Back issues of the New York Times newspaper, published since 1851 are searchable from the newspaper's website. Articles from 1851-1922 are available full text, free from the website. Fulltext is not advertised by the newspaper, but is avaiable (before 1922) link from article title.
Here's a sample search, started with keywords, savannah slavery and limted by date: 01/01/1851-01/01/1900:
A digital subscription to the New York Times (academic rate is currently $5 for first 12 weeks) means access all the back issues and current articles.