Skip to main content

banner

Electronic Book Guide: Home: Find eBooks

Discover ebooks available to ASU patrons & freely available ebook websites

eBooks for ASU patrons

The following eBook sites are made available to Armstrong patrons

ebrary's Guide is available for additional information

Authenticate with your Port ID and password for ebrary access

The following step-by-step Guides will assist you in downloading ebrary titles

Ebooks on EbscoHost

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Inside the "eBooks on EBSCOhost" link above, you will be searching the following collections as a group, as well as the former "Netlibrary collection". To search the collections separately, click on the appropriate link(s) below.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)

eBook Community College Collection (EBSCO)

eBook High School Collection (EBSCO)

eBook Public Library Collection (EBSCO)

 

 

FirstSearch Ebooks

Ebooks Index (FirstSearch) 

Includes full-text ebook collections licensed by Lane Library & free resources that are available in the public domain from education, government, and commercial Web sites.

Georgia Historic Books

Georgia Historic Books

This database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature

Websites for free eBooks

Check out the following freely available eBook websites:

Google Books

Out-of-copyright books can be viewed online, and those in the public domain can be downloaded and saved.

HathiTrust

A collaborative repository from US research libraries, containing over 10 million digitized volumes. Not all are freely accessible, however over 2.5 million public domain digitized works can be downloaded.

Internet Archive Text Archive

Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

Open Library

A project of the Internet Archive, provides records for 20 million books, and access to 1.7 million scanned books. The search can be limited to ebooks only.

Project Gutenberg

A fully searchable collection of 18000+ multilanguage eBooks. Many classic titles and other formats such as audio books. It has a fully searchable online catalogue.

Additional recommended ebook sites to visit for your academic needs...

Textbook Sites:

Affordable Learning Georgia (ALG)

ALG aims to replace commercial learning materials with no-cost-to-student alternatives, with a focus on the Top 50-enrolled USG lower-division Core Curriculum courses. Find textbook and other course resources listed on this site.

Directory of Open Access Books 

The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.

Global Text Project (UGA)

A collection of undergraduate e-textbooks available under a creative commons license in business, computing, education, health, science and social science

Open Access Textbooks

The Resources tab contains links to websites that provide open access textbooks.

Variety of General and Specialized eBook Websites

ipl2 (Internet Public Library)

45000+ full text works, fiction and non-fiction plus online reference works, divided into subject collections for easy browsing but also fully searchable.

Knowledge Unlatched

Ensure that good academic books continue to be published and that the core-outputs of the humanities and social sciences are not left behind in the shift to open access.

MERLOT

A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Microsoft eBook Collection

Largest collection of FREE Microsoft eBooks ever, including: Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Office 2013, Office 365, Office 2010, SharePoint 2013, Dynamics CRM, PowerShell, Exchange Server, Lync 2013, System Center, Azure, Cloud, SQL Server, and much more

Online Books Page

A regularly updated listing of over 1 million eBooks that are freely readable over the internet, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library

Questia

Over 5,000 classic and rare books available to read online for free.

Unglue It

It's a place for individuals and institutions to join together to liberate specific eBooks and other types of digital content by paying authors and publishers to relicense their works under Creative Commons licenses.

University of Pittsburgh Press

Pitt Press has selected 762 monographs for open access, including titles from the Pitt Latin American Series, Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies, and Composition, Literacy and Culture.

Wikibooks*

These multidisciplinary open-content textbooks can be edited by anyone. *Like Wikipedia, the content varies in quality, evaluate each source thoughtfully before using. Many books are incomplete, however featured books are those that have been considered by the community to represent the best quality wikibooks.

Want More? Follow this link for a more exhaustive list of academic ebook collections on the web: University of Pennsylvania's Online Books Page

 

 

   

ebrary: Searching, Finding and Using

ebrary download video guide

Navigating in ebrary online