How did life at Armstrong change during the war years? Examine documents created in the pre-war (1935-1939), during the War (1939-1945) and after the War (1945-1950s) to collect evidence of what life was like for studens and faculty at Armstrong. What did students/faculty think of the war? How did the war change their lives? How did Armstrong contribute to the war effort? How did the war impact Armstrong?
The Inkwell is Armstrong's student newspaper, continuously published since September 1935, Armstrong's first semester. Reflect on who created, wrote this newspaper and what purpose it served at the time. Few sources provide as much information about life at Armstrong over the years than our student newspaper.
Digitized by Lane Library and available from The Internet Archive (archive.org)
Armstrong's school yearbook, titled The Geechee, documents Armstrong history, it was published most every year from 1937 thru 1995. Who created, wrote this document? Who's voice do we hear from this document?
All issues of The Geechee have been digitized and are freely available at The Internet Archive (archive.org) and linked here.
Digitized by Lane Library and available from the Internet Archive (archive.org)
Use link below to document analysis worksheets, question to ask yourself when studying documents to learn about history. There are sheets for written documents, but also photographs, cartoons, artifact (objects) and more.
Explore some of the treasures from Armstrong's archives on the pages of this guide. The Geechee, Armstrong's yearbook, The Inkwell, Armstrong's student newspaper and photographs are popular sources for Armstrong's story. Also digitized here are documents kept behind locked doors and in boxes, for safe keeping. Letters, programs describing a much anticipated play or event and carefully written minutes of meetings document life at Armstrong during the War years.
Materials in Archives and Special Collections are unique, rare, and historically significant. And often selected items are available in digital format. Armstrong has digitized the The Geechee, our college annual, published from 1938-1995. It is free for all to view on the Internet Archive. We are in the process of digit zing The Inkwell. Other documents were selected for this project, Armstrong during World War II.