This is the "Annotated Bibliography" page of the "Annotated Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
banner

Annotated Bibliographies   Tags: annotated bibliography  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.armstrong.edu/annotated Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why am I doing this?

Warning: Finding information may be easier than using information. 

Move from the research process to the writing process by assembling and organizing your research in an annotated bibliography.

A bibliography is a list of sources that you have found with information relevant to your research question.  Writing a short critique or analysis of each of those resources spells out how you plan to use the information and why you chose it.

The annotation shows that you have read and understood the information you are using—a necessary step in being able to use the information in your writing.

 

Parts of an annotated bibliography

Research question or thesis:

Start your Annotated Bibliography by saying what you are researching.  Often this will be a statement that you will refine as you move through the process of reading and assimilating the information you find. You may not finalize this section until you are done with the rest of the bibliography, but make sure it is clear, specific, and accurate.  By explaining your research goal, you provide the context that shows the value and relevance of your information sources.


For each article, book, or Web site include the following three elements.

The citation:

Just as with a Works Cited list or Reference page, this part of the entry for an annotated bibliography requires that you cite your source in the citation style required by your professor.  Instructions for MLA and APA are linked to this guide.

Summary of content:

A short paragraph that describes the main points the authors make and/or the reason for their research, analysis, or review.  Use three or four sentences to show that you understand what the authors were trying to accomplish in their work.

Evaluative analysis:

A second short paragraph that explains why you have chosen this source to support your claim or answer your question.  What credentials or experience does the author have that makes him or her credible?  Most importantly, how does the content of this article, book, or Web site relate to your research question?  Note any shortcomings or problems you see with information regarding the extent of the research, perspective of the authors, or accuracy of the data.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Judith Garrison
Contact Info
(912)344-3012
Send Email
 

 
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip